How many major and minor prophets are there in the Bible?


The division of major and minor prophets come from the Old Testament. There are 17 books of prophecy in the Old Testament and they are divided into two groups: the long books (the major prophets) and the short books (the minor prophets).

The major prophet books are:

  • Isaiah
  • Jeremiah
  • Lamentations
  • Ezekiel
  • Daniel

Jeremiah and Lamentations were both written by Jeremiah. The minor prophet books are:

  • Hosea
  • Joel
  • Amos
  • Obadiah
  • Jonah
  • Micah
  • Nahum
  • Habakkuk
  • Zephaniah
  • Haggai
  • Zechariah
  • Malachi
Print Friendly, PDF & Email